Craft

Craft is the technical aspect of writing which has improved my writing skills, through the knowledge between active and passive voice, and concision, such as modifiers, in writing. As I learned in class, passive voice is when the subject receives the action and sometimes there is no subject in the sentence, and active voice is when the subject is doing the action. I learned these concepts in high school but I was never able to understand what they were, until I took the writing 10 course. I never recognized my sentences by either active or passive voice, but after one of my peers found a passive sentence in my research paper draft, I was on the lookout for passive sentences. Sentences in passive voice are generally longer and sometimes they get wordy and vague. With active voice, the sentences are simple but specific to the reader making the sentence and paper much easier to understand and read. Active and passive voice improved my writing skills by helping me eliminate wordy or vague sentences or phrases in my paper. I was able to look for passive and active voice throughout my paper in the revision process. Then I would determine the sentence to be written either in passive or active voice, and then whether or not the sentence needed to be changed to the opposite voice. The difference between active and passive voice improved my writing skills, but concision in writing, such as modifiers and summaries vs. analysis, also improved my writing skills.

The concision in my writing also improved my writing skills. Redundant modifiers are examples of concision in writing. Before the beginning of the course I would use words with nearly identical meanings, and I still do sometimes, but towards the end of the semester I was able to stay away from those mistakes. Examples of words I used that go unnoticed when I write are “end results”, “continue on”, and “actual facts”. I avoid these redundant modifiers when I write, whether it’s during the drafting or revision process, but I still make these mistakes after revising. The use of redundant modifiers improved my writing skills by removing redundancy and decreased the use of repetition in my paper. Concision in writing such as the difference between a summary and an analysis also improved my writing skills. A summary is a description which tells readers what happens, and an analysis is a description which tells readers what happens and how or why it happens. An example of my summary vs. analysis dilemma is through my in-class writings. If the topic of the in-class writing was on a novel, then I would answer the question by summarizing what happens in the novel instead of analyzing part of the novel and answering the question. As the semester progressed I recognized the difference between an analysis and a summary, and my in-class writings improved. With knowledge of the difference between an analysis and a summary my writing skills improved, by allowing me analyze text and provide reasons and evidence to back up the analysis.

Attached:

LeeResearchFinal LeeSocial Issue LeeSocialRev

This entry was posted in Writing 10 Craft. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

