The Broken Wing (Original and Revised)

Original Poem

Fooled by me,
I fooled them all,
They cannot enter,
As I placed this wall.

They won’t know the truth
Of my heart’s desires.
Cut the strings, I dare you,
But you won’t find the pliers.

I laugh as they laugh,
Cry when they cry,
Smile as they smile,
But I still cannot fly.

The jokes they pass around the table,
Creating laughter through the air
As I sit at the table,
With a single tear.

A tear in my soul
As I adorn this face.
Their jokes weren’t even funny,
But I laugh, so where is my place?

I laugh as they laugh,
Cry when they cry,
Smile as they smile,
But I still cannot fly.

All around the table
They cry from laughter or grief.
But I don’t have a clue in the world,
As why I’m still that aching leaf.

The leaf which never fell from the tree,
The leaf which never flew,
The leaf which never learned,
All because, he never knew.

I laugh as they laugh,
Cry when they cry,
Smile as they smile,
But I still cannot fly.

Smiling when good news is passed around
But I could never understand,
Why my smile existed with theirs,
I always felt I was a hired hand.

I could never crawl back into reality,
I was too far gone in my mind.
I tried to be their brothers and sisters,
But it never worked, and I became too blind.

I laugh as they laugh,
Cry when they cry,
Smile as they smile,
But I still cannot fly.

Why is it that I cherish these faces?
No, not those faces around,
But my many faces I choose to use,
When will my single face be found?

I choose to wear several masks,
Due to being judged by others,
But I understand that if they judge,
You shouldn’t consider them your sister or brother.

I shouldn’t have to wear multiple masks in my lifetime,
But since I do, I become like every other guy
Hoping to please everyone I meet,
Maybe this is why, I will never fly.

Revised Poem

Their absentminded face was fooled by me,
Closed my eyes and smirked as I fooled them all,
Forged a fog so that they cannot enter,
Not a gleaming light as I placed this wall.

Buried in dry dirt they won’t know the truth,
Of my heart’s deep and shattered desires.
Go and cut the strings today, I dare you,
But you won’t find the small golden pliers.

Around the table I laugh as they laugh,
Like they lost their love I cry when they cry.
The sun shines, I smile as they smile,
But I feel chained and I still cannot fly.

The jokes they pass around the cold table,
Always creating laughter through the air
My lifeless warm body floating and paused,
With a bleeding, red, throbbing, hurtful tear.

A tear heard through the cosmos in my soul
Adorning this lovely yet stupid face.
I laugh but their jokes weren’t even funny,
I laugh with a quack, so where is my place?

Around the table I laugh as they laugh,
Like they lost their love I cry when they cry.
The sun shines, I smile as they smile,
But I feel chained and I still cannot fly.

Around the table, one end to the next
You can see they cry from laughter or grief.
But there’s not a single clue in this world,
As to why you are still that aching leaf.

The leaf which never fell from the tree branch,
The leaf even with the wind, never flew,
The aging crispy leaf which never learned,
All because in its life, it never knew.

Around the table I laugh as they laugh,
Like they lost their love I cry when they cry.
The sun shines, I smile as they smile,
But I feel chained and I still cannot fly.

Smiling when good news is passed around,
I think, but I could never understand,
Why was my smile existing with theirs,
I always felt I was a hired hand.

Crawling back into true reality,
Yeah right, I was too far gone in my mind.
I tried to be their brothers and sisters,
But it never worked, and I became blind.

Around the table I laugh as they laugh,
Like they lost their love I cry when they cry,
But the sun shines, smile as they smile,
But I feel chained and I still cannot fly.

Why is it that I cherish these faces?
No, not those genuine faces around,
But my many faces I choose to use,
When will my single face ever be found?

I let others choose which mask I wear,
As I tremble being judged by others,
But I understand that if they should judge,
Do not call them your sister or brother.

I should not have to wear multiple masks,
But I do, just like every other guy
To greatly please everyone that I meet,
Maybe this is why, I will never fly.

This entry was posted in Poems. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

