Day 2: Not Going To Disneyland … “NEXT!”

Today was rather challenging, a bit hectic. Not just for the blog, but outside of the blogsphere as well. But life is made to be challenging (e.g., this blog), but worthwhile. Anyways, I found myself in two spectrum–spectrums (?)– today. The first was money and the other was time. Odd, it’s time and money that have caused me trouble.

Money is constantly a problem. But you know what works well to mediate that problem? Nothing. It runs the world, it runs me. Without it, we can’t do anything. For instance, I haven’t been to Disneyland before and I was calculating the costs such as renting a car and gas, and the total trip would take roughly $1,250. Am I doing something wrong with these calculations? But the trip is going to take a toll out of my wallet and bank that it’s not worth it. I haven’t been to the happiest place in the world, and I may never get a chance to do so while I’m still young. But that’s okay.

Aside from Disneyland, the other problem is just personal expenses. Just trying to pay off bills, while having enough for yourself is just hectic. I guess this is the problem most college students face, but others somehow have a mass amount of money, and I’m struggling to get by everyday. I guess I know in some way how my parents struggled to barely support the family. Okay, enough with the pity.

The other end of the spectrum is time. I’m currently leading this video project, and I just cannot find enough time to really sit down and do everything for it. People are cancelling on interview sessions, we only have about 2-3 weeks left in the semester, and I really want to finish this video by the end of the semester. It’s not looking too possible at the moment, but we’ll work it out, I know we will.

So what’s the personal reflection for me today? Well, time and money runs our lives. We hate to admit it, but they do. If you don’t have time, you can’t make money. If you don’t have money, your time won’t be spent on things you could potentially do. Now, I know, you don’t need money to be happy. But society has made it a deal to make things possible with money. You can take a trip to New York on foot, but it’s going to take months for you to reach the city that never sleeps–I just hope you find a place to sleep for free. Money is a shortcut we all sometimes need. We all need shortcuts to success sometimes.

Time is without a price. You end up losing time in some section of your life, of your day. This is important to understand, because time management is so crucial. But somehow I manage to find absolutely no time to anything. Is this a problem? Sure, but I’m rambling on about time that I don’t know where I’m going with it. Just in the ideal world, time controls you, but you also control time. We become the workers of time, spinning the Earth around each passing day. And it’s up to us to be the best darn workers of all time. Wishful reading everyone! 🙂

This entry was posted in Personal Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

