Day 9: Adaptation/What Are Your Summer Plans?

First, I would like to thank everyone with their kind words regarding my last post. I didn’t realize there were so many Bloggers with similar financial experiences, and just hearing from those sharing their stories really inspired me to finish my last year of college. Hopefully once I finish, I can give back to my community, to the people that have helped me, to the world.

Secondly, I would like to address my fluctuation in posting. My goal was to post at least a daily reflection each day, but of course that isn’t going so well. The last few weeks leading up to my finals and after finals, I have embraced the art of relaxing. So that’s what I’m doing. But I rest assure you, my writing will not stop. I am currently brainstorming ideas for a new story, not necessarily a short or even a “short” story, just a story. Perhaps a novel of some sort with several chapters. But it’s still in the pre-writing stages and I don’t want to let loose any ideas until I’m 100% sure I will use them.

Now that my semester is over and I’ve sort of looked over my financial struggle, albeit it still exists, I decided to finally come home and visit my family. Anytime I come home from college, whether it’s for the summer or for spring break, something changes. My mom is currently the only one working and she hasn’t been making a whole lot to support the strain of financial debt my family is currently in. She’s only making about $17,000 a year, and with my journey into college, the debt that they’ve acquired over the last several years, bills and more bills, $17,000 just isn’t enough. She’s come to me for financial support, and honestly I wish I could help her. I’ve attempted to provide her as much as I can, but I only ended up struggling financially. Lesson learned, focus on your own needs before others, something I still need to work on. But it’s my mom, I couldn’t say no!

But as the changes continue to happen, I won’t explain specific changes as I want to respect the privacy of my parents, I’ve learned to adapt. I’ve adapted before, whether it was at work or during group projects, but to adapt to a new life changing attitude and “way,” it’s difficult. I think I’m in the animal kingdom right now, trying to adapt to the environment and changes in nature in order to survive, just to survive. No luxurious items, no unnecessary goods, I have to learn to survive. I’m the prey, and the world is the predator. But I’ve learned to adapt to this. I’ve learned to say no, but also I’ve learned to ask for help. At the same time, the environment is quickly changing and I’m hoping I can adapt quickly in order to not fall prey to the world. In the meantime, I have a positive outlook on life that something great will happen. Destiny is on my side, on the side of all of those currently struggling. 

Anyways, what are your plans for this summer?

This entry was posted in Personal Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

